Recent Posts

Winners of the 3rd Textile Challenge announced

Design by Ashleigh Hudswell

Design by Ashleigh Hudswell

Winners of the 3rd Textile Challenge were announced by Caroline McNamara, Vice Chair of Texere and Founder of Red Strand Design during the ETN (European Textile Network) conference in Leiden, The Netherlands, on 17 May.

Read about background to The Textile Challenge here.

The 3rd Textile Challenge asked participants to drawn inspiration from designers working during the 2nd half of the 19th century – Owen Jones, William Morris, Christopher Dresser…. It was a time when the ‘Reform’, ‘Arts & Crafts’ and ‘Aesthetic’ movements questioned the value of design and introduced patterns from many other cultures.

Over 80 entries were submitted from the colleges and stitch groups in Europe, Australia and India – from West Country Embroiderers, CIT Cork, Kinsale College of Further Education, NID India, Bath Spa University, RMIT Melbourne, and the University of East London.

Historian and writer Mary Schoeser, judging on behalf of the Warner Textile Archive, remarked that the overall standard of entries this year has been the highest to date. Using a non-woven substrate for their challenge base the technical responses received demonstrated a wide skill set. The students from RMIT Melbourne were particularly congratulated for their outstanding and inspirational work.

In all, 21 students were Shortlisted, 14 Highly Commended and 6 Winners announced.


Ashleigh Hudswell, RMIT Melbourne

Komal Shree, National Institute of Design, India

Lynn Edwards, West Country Embroiderers

Jo Cass, University of East London

Sharon Murphy, Kinsale College of Cork

Sarah Treffkorn, CIT Cork

Sharon Murpy

Sharon Murpy

Lynn Edwards

Lynn Edwards

Sarah Treffkorn

Sarah Treffkorn

Highly Commended

University of East London – Ruby Amwar

Bath Spa University – Harriet Perkins

RMIT Melbourne – Abby Craig, Sharelle Ernst, Patricia McCarthy-Henry, Natalie Ryan

NID India – Yashi Bahuguna, Anahita Ginwaza

Kinsale College, Cork – Jacinta Darragh

CIT, Cork – Anne Collins, Anne Kearns, Mary O’Brien

WCE – Elly Holmes, Adam Halls, Valerie Williams


Names are in no particular order.